Spring & Summer 2015 Trend Report

 
I was writing a post about NYFW’s 2016 SS Show and I was motivated to check out the Spring & Summer 2015 trends.
 
Okay, now I know I’ve very late to the party here but let me explain. Because of my current location in the Southern Hemisphere (thank you Australia), I’m slowed down in terms of trends. So that practically means in the Northern Hemisphere, where there is Summer, over here is winter. It’s absolutely annoying and terribly confusing as you can imagine, because while NYFW is having it’s AW 2015 Fashion Show, I’d be sitting here in Summer like what????!!
 
Either way, it’s terribly confusing, so I usually leave it up to the last minute to search up trend reports on the upcoming season. Here I’ve jotted down trends I’ll definitely be looking out for as shown below!

Spring & Summer 2015 Trend Report
  • Gingham
  • 70’s & 90’s
  • Flares
  • Denim
  • Leather & Suede
  • Caramel, Marsala, Emerald
  • Shirtdresses
  • Off the shoulder
  • Khaki & Military
  • ‘Up till the thigh’ transparency (sheer fabric displaying the thighs)
  • Metallic
  • Hippie Botanicals
  • Knee High lace up heels
  • Sportswear
  • Polo Tops
  • Fray & Fringe
  • Culottes
  • Bermuda shorts
  • Vertical Stripes
  • Rain Coats
  • Kimonos and Ponchos
  • Polka Dots
  • Larger Hats
  • Crochet & Lace
  • Jumpsuits
  • Tulle
  • Patchwork prints
  • Feathers
  • Pop Art
  • Mesh
Phew! That was a pretty long list. I used two websites and my own personal knowledge (thanks to Polyvore) to gather these trends, but I pretty sure there are plenty more out there! I feel like it’s refreshing to gaze through the fashion forecast for the upcoming season, not because I need to follow it completely of course, but it gives me a solid idea of the styles and ‘feel’ of the fashion I’ll see in stores. Also, when I’m in a store I could point to a top  with a trend and yell out “I CALLED FOR IT!!”
 
Hope you found this helpful if you’re living in the Southern Hemisphere! My NYFW Spring & Summer Show posts will be coming very soon, which I’ll run down my favourite collections and pieces, favourite NYFW street looks and the Trend Report for 2016 Summer and Spring.
 
Hope you all have a wonderful day!
Question: What trend are you most excited for in Spring 2015?
xx HML
Information obtained from:


Leave a Reply

